How to be more green in your apartment…

22 02 2008

Being green was a resolution of mine in 2008.  Progress so far?  Well I use my own cup at work instead of using a Styrofoam one and I replaced my desk lamp with an energy efficient one.

I would call that progress…

A blog that I check out rather frequently is Apartment Therapy – one of the coolest blogs out there.  As a way to make your apartment more green – they posted the following ideas for your bedroom…

All of the  furniture is non-toxic and is very clean for the environment…

Being green also results in some sacrifices….

…clearly white is the color of choice to be green….ironic?

$.00…(trying to save costs and be more green in light of this post)

-SD

Actions

Information

One response

26 02 2008
Nidhi

Hey Such…ohh love this blog! Totally down with your green vibe so 2 big green thumbs up!

A little anecdote to go along with your lovely theme…so when I moved into my apartment complex in SF, I didn’t know if they had a recycling bin since I never saw one next to the garbage chute. Curious, I called up our property management office and lo and behold, they had one hidden away in the garage where I’m sure many people don’t see it.

Since then I simply stuck a brown bag next to my kitchen trash can for recyclables and have found that my kitchen trash bag lasts 3 times as long…because truly so much of what we consume in our daily lives can be recycled!

Those of you living in apartment buildings who aren’t recycling, call up your offices and find out how you can…it takes a few extra minutes a week to stop at the recycling bin, but it’s really worth it!

Also do this at work – we have a guy who takes home everyone’s cans at the end of the day – it can seem silly, but in the end every little piece can help =)

Go Green Go!

Leave a Reply

